Home Educational List of federal universities in Nigeria and year of establishment

List of federal universities in Nigeria and year of establishment

by Abimaye

Check below for list of all the accredited Federal Universities in Nigeria. The list contains Federal Universities in Nigeria, including Universities of Technology, Universities of Agriculture and Universities of Education and the courses offered by each of them.


We will keep on updating this list as new universities are created.

List of Federal Universities In Nigeria
Note to Mobile users : Scroll to the side to view all the contents in the table below:
1 Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi ATBU established 1988
2 Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria ABU established. 1962
3 Bayero University, Kano BUK established. 1975
4 Federal University Gashua, Yobe FUGASHUA established. 2013
5 Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun FUPRE established. 2007
6 Federal University of Technology, Akure FUTA established. 1981
7 Federal University of Technology, Minna FUTMINNA established 1982
8 Federal University of Technology, Owerri FUTO established 1980
9 Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State FUD established 2011
10 Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina FUDMA established 2011
11 Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State FUKASHERE Courses 2011
12 Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State FULAFIA established 2011
13 Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State FULOKOJA Courses 2011
14 Federal University, Ndifu-Alike, Ebonyi State FUNAI established 2011
15 Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa FUOTUOKE established 2011
16 Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State FUOYE Courses 2011
17 Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State FUWUKARI established 2011
18 Federal University, Birnin Kebbi FUBK established 2013
19 Federal University, Gusau Zamfara FUGUS established  2013
20 Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike MOUAU established 1992
21 Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola MAUTECH established 1981
22 National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos NOUN established 2002
23 Nigeria Police Academy Wudil NPA established 2013
24 Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna NDA established 1985
25 Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka UNIZIK established 1992
26 Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife OAU established 1962
27 University of Abuja, Gwagwalada UNIABUJA established 1988
28 Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta FUNAAB established 1988
29 University of Agriculture, Makurdi FUAM established 1988
30 University of Benin UNIBEN established 1970
31 University of Calabar UNICAL established 1975
32 University of Ibadan UI established 1948
33 University of Ilorin UNILORIN established 1975
34 University of Jos UNIJOS established 1975
35 University of Lagos UNILAG established 1962
36 University of Maiduguri UNIMAID established 1975
37 University of Nigeria, Nsukka UNN established 1960
38 University of Port-Harcourt UNIPORT established 1975
39 University of Uyo UNIUYO established 1991
40 Usumanu Danfodiyo University UDUSOK established 1975
41 Nigerian Maritime University Okerenkoko, Delta State NMU Courses 2018
42 Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna AFIT established 2018
43 Nigerian Army University Biu NAUB established 2018
44 University of Health Technology, Otukpo Benue State

You may also like

Leave a Comment