Home News NUC names 198 federal, state, private universities in Nigeria [Full list]

NUC names 198 federal, state, private universities in Nigeria [Full list]

by Abimaye

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has provided a list of all federal, state, and private universities.

This is contained in its October bulletin which chronicled the commission’s activities.

NUC had promised to keep Nigerians abreast of approved universities so that they do not fall for scammers and other unscrupulous elements.

The country has a number of illegal tertiary institutions swindling uninformed citizens with the claim of running accredited courses.

In the breakdown, there are currently 45 federal universities, 54 in states and 99 private, a total of 198.

Meanwhile, NUC Executive Secretary, Prof Abubakar Rasheed has met with Vice-Chancellors and Sustainable Procurement, Environment and Social Standards Enhancement (SPESSE) Centre Leaders.

The World Bank project has a span of five years with an $80million budget. It seeks to institutionalise the procurement, environmental and social standards in Nigeria.

While 37.5 percent has been earmarked for technical assistance, 62.5 percent would be disbursed based on performance using Disbursement Link Indicators (DLI).

Six tertiary institutions will run courses for the project that will benefit 25,240 candidates.

They are the University of Lagos, Federal University of Technology Owerri, University of Benin, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Federal University of Agriculture Makurdi, and Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Bauchi.

The list of approved 198 Nigerian universities:


You may also like

Leave a Comment